Press "Enter" to skip to content

How To Delete Facebook Account Permanently (7 Steps)

Ankur Shrivastava 0

Is it time to delete Facebook? Cambridge Analytica debacle has bolstered the opinion that Facebook could be abused to profile users and sell their data. As a result, #deletefacebook is trending. Facebook isn’t a social networking website anymore. It’s more of a surveillance company who keeps a check on what you are, what you do, what you like, basically, it knows everything about you. Recently, it rolled out a new Feature called ‘Facebook Analytics’ which lets publishers and website owners target people based on interests, demographics and other metrics. Unlike Google, which largely relies on cookies, Facebook knows each users’ likes and dislikes exactly and it’s high time you get rid of your Facebook account.

Step #1. Go to Facebook Settings

The first step is to go to the Facebook settings located on the top right in the desktop mode. You’ll find the Settings option just before the ‘Log out’ option at the last.

Delete Facebook

Step #2. Backup Facebook Data

You’ve spent a lot of time on Facebook, uploaded a lot of photos, videos, shared memories with your friends. You don’t want to just delete all those with a click. One cool thing to know is that you can create a backup of all those data. In order to do that, go to the ‘Download a copy’ option in the ‘General’ tab in Facebook Settings.

Delete Facebook

Step #3. Start Archive Creation Process

Here you’ll see a green button with text ‘Start my Archive’. Click on that. This archive will include your posts, photos, and videos you shared. Also, it will include all the messages and chat conversations. It will also include your information from the About section.

Delete Facebook

Step #4. Wait for Archive Creation

After clicking that green button, it will ask you to wait for a while, while it creates the archive for you.

Delete Facebook

You’ll get a notification when your backup data archive is ready to be downloaded. You’ll also receive an email notification.

Delete Facebook

Step #5. Download your Facebook Data

Click on the ‘Download Archive’ green button to download your Facebook data.

Delete Facebook

Step #6. Deactivate Facebook

Next step is either to deactivate or permanently delete your Facebook Account. If you are here to permanently delete your facebook account, then skip to the next step.

In order to deactivate your facebook account, go to Manage Account in the General tab in Facebook Settings. Click on Deactivate your account at the last. The choose a reason for deactivation and deactivate your facebook account.

Delete Facebook

Step #7. Permanently Delete Facebook

In order to permanently delete your Facebook account, visit this link, https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account and click Delete my Account as shown below.Delete Facebook

Over to you

Do you really want to delete Facebook account? If there is a bad time for someone, there will be a good time. Mark Zuckerberg is working to make Facebook a better place for everyone. I’m not deleting my Facebook Account.

Be careful, you won’t get the chance to change your mind after you’ve deleted your Facebook account permanently. So, take your decision wisely.

It will take 90 days for Facebook to delete all your photos, videos, posts, likes, comments, messages, and everything else. Other Facebook users won’t be able to visit your profile during the deletion process. However, the text messages, images you’ve sent to your friends via chat will reside at their end because they’re a part of their account also. You can ask them to delete your messages.

Buckle Up

Join 1827 other subscribers



    Ask a question

    You have to agree to the comment policy.

    5 × four =